The five Buddhas

“The five Buddha’s of Confidence, Longevity, Wisdom, Inner Beauty and Peace grace the shrine with 10,000 smaller Buddha’s, showing that everyone can achieve Buddhahood.

Li-Bu-Wei Buddha

Amitabha Buddha

Tuo-Pao Buddha

Miao-Se-Shen Buddha

Gan-Lu-Wang Buddha
This Buddha’s symbolic direction is east. He signifies confidence and fearlessness. The hands are in a mudra of appeasement or consolation. With the daily occurrence of violence and natural disaster around the world, many people find it difficult to face the future. The tranquility gained from following the Buddha’s way better enables one to remain calm; like a mountain unmoved by ravaging elements, one can approach each day without fear.
This Buddha’s symbolic direction is west and his hands are in a mudra of concentration. He signifies infinite light and boundless life. Amitabha Buddha presides over the Western Pure Land. Praying to Amitabha Buddha improves one’s constitution and increases longevity. With sincere and continued practice of Buddhist principles, upon death one will go to the blissful Western Pure Land to spend each day learning and living the Dharma.

This Buddha symbolizes the central direction and represents wealth. The hands are in a mudra of the ceremony of unction. Humans’ craving for material wants is often a futile exercise. At best, the joy derived from materialism is short lived. Developing wisdom through following the Buddha’s teachings, however, can attain true wealth and fulfillment.

This Buddha’s symbolic direction is south. His hands are in a mudra of touching the ground, which symbolizes Sakyamuni Buddha’s resolve to overcome the temptations of Mara and thereby gain supreme enlightenment. He represents beautiful things, and is physically beautiful. The practice of Buddhism cultivates inner beauty and sincerity. This in turn results in a more relaxed and pleasing outward form.

This Buddha’s symbolic position is north. He signifies calmness and purity. His hands are in a mudra of casting out fear. Life’s problems can overtake the mind. In the interest of survival, one must seek escape. Unfortunately, running away offers only temporary respite and is not a true solution to life. The teachings of the Buddha can purify and calm the mind so that former problems no longer seem so wildly out of control.

Main Shrine is the most important building and also called the Great Hero Hall. When we see the steps before the shrine, it reminds us of our aim to gain enlightenment. One cannot be given enlightenment, we have to gain it ourselves. It might take many many lifetimes and we have to take each step at a time steadily, it will be a long way but we ought to make those steps ourselves.”

I copied the above from the Website of the

Below is the picture post card of the five Buddhas which I already published previously.


11 thoughts on “The five Buddhas

  1. I really like that card. It seems so 3D.

    I appreciate what you said about enlightenment, too, having to attain it yourself. Interesting. Why is life so HARD!!! 🙂

    1. Please note, Noeleen,
      these aren’t my words.
      I just copied them from the temple’s website!

      I hope life isn’t HARD all the time.
      Wishing you some beautiful enjoyable moments.
      Weekend coming close, Enjoy! 🙂
      Greetings from ‘Aunty’ Uta and Peter aka Berlioz.

  2. Hallo liebe Freundin was für ein schöner Bericht, schöne Worte hat du wieder geschrieben.Ja jeder Budda hat seine Bedeutung,ich finde das ist ein schöner Glaube.Bei uns ist wieder Regen jetzt ist der Mai um und es hat fast nur geregnet an besten ist es wohl wir Wahnder aus,ich hoffe es geht dir gut was ich auch von mir sagen kann.Wünsche dir einen glücklichen schönen Tag,und ein gutes Wochenende mit lieben grüßen.Gislinde

    1. Hallo, liebe Gislinde, den Bericht von den Buddhas habe ich nur kiopiert von der Website. Es sind also nicht meine Worte! Ich fand es interessant die Bedeutung jedes einzelnen Buddhas herauszufinden.
      Ja, z.Z. habt ihr wohl zu viel Regen, aber wenn es gar nicht regnet das ist auch nicht so gut, nicht wahr?
      Ich bin manchmal sehr müde, aber insgesamt geht es mir recht gut. Es ist schön, dass es dir auch gut geht. Ich wünsche dir auch ein gutes Wochenende. Liebe Grüsse von mir, Uta.

  3. As usual auntyuta; an interesting post with information about a different way of living. As I understand, it is a different way of ‘being’ rather than a different culture. This ‘point’ is all we have. It is the right ‘now’ rather than the yesterday or the tomorrow that we are alive in. It is a struggle but if the joys outnumber the hurts, it is worthwhile to plough on, and indeed find ‘enlightenment’.

    1. Thank you so much, Gerard, for this very thoughtful comment. 🙂
      On the postcard with the five Buddhas they say: “The Temple has evolved into a harmonious place where the East and West meet and merge. . . . .”
      When I visit the temple and walk through the temple gardens I get this feeling that East and West can live in harmony. 🙂
      ” Confidence, Longevity, Wisdom, Inner Beauty and Peace” these are things I want to be striving for. I just happen to enjoy beautiful, calm, peaceful surroundings. I do find the same things in my Catholic church here in Dapto! 🙂

    1. I wanted to find out myself a bit more about the meaning of the five Buddhas. I’m glad I found on the postcard the website of the I found the reading informative as well. Thanks for commenting, Ian.
      Cheers, Auntyuta. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s